Awards of Honor

The Award of Honor, the highest award given by the Academy of Rehabilitative Audiology, is presented in recognition of sustained and dedicated service and meritorious contributions to the Academy and to rehabilitation of individuals who are deaf and hard-of-hearing. Persons nominated for the Award must have been a member of the ARA for a minimum of 5 years and have served the ARA in three or more of the following ways: as officer, committee chairperson, committee member, or member of the editorial staff of the *Journal of the Academy of Rehabilitative Audiology (JARA)*; through involvement in legislative activity on the state and national level to benefit people who are deaf and hard-of-hearing; by contributing papers to the *JARA*; or by presenting short courses or papers at Academy meetings. Recipients of the Award of Honor are as follows:

Jerome G. Alpiner, 1998 Mark Ross, 1996 John J. O'Neill, 1986 Donald D. Johnson, 1985 Edward J. Hardick, 1983

Certificates of Appreciation

The Certificate of Appreciation is presented in recognition of short term, outstanding contributions to the Academy of Rehabilitative Audiology. This award is *not* limited to those individuals who have been or are members of the Academy of Rehabilitative Audiology. In particular, this award is given for extraordinary contributions and/or service to the ARA in a singular endeavor or special manner. The criteria for this award are purposefully broad so the award may be given for any activity of special merit performed by an individual or organization. Recipients of the Certificate of Appreciation are as follows:

Joanne E. Schupbach, ARA Member, 1995 Carol L. De Filippo, PhD, ARA Member, 1990 Robert M. McLauchlin, PhD, ARA Member, 1987 Hugh L. Beykirch, PhD, ARA Member, 1986 Nancy L. Brixey, ARA Member, 1985 Psi Iota Xi, 1984 Gretchen Skalbeck, PhD, ARA Member, 1984 Hugh L. Beykirch, PhD, ARA Member, 1984 Frank C. Caccamise, PhD, ARA Member, 1984 Sertoma, 1983 Dorothy M. Stein, PhD, ARA Member, 1983 Robert Traynor, PhD, ARA Member, 1983 Claude S. Hayes, PhD, ARA Member, 1981 Delores Heckerson, National President, Psi Iota Xi, 1980 Karen Isbell, National Treasurer, Psi Iota Xi, 1980 John J. O'Neill, PhD, ARA Member, 1980